ONE-DAY SICK BED AND A DEAD PIGEON(concluding part)

The voice continued
“Sometimes,people are like pigeons; they only flock near you when they have something to gain. When you are empty, they flock elsewhere, nd even  forget about you. Never expect the world from them, and never expect them to be always grateful. They are people, and that’s what people have to offer most times”
Two days later, I was walking up a slopy road to the stairs that led to my hostel when I saw a dead pigeon. I am a lover of nature and birds,(and cats too) so the child in me felt very sorry for the pigeon. But other students just passed the pigeon like it was any other thing. In everyone’s eyes, this was “another dead pigeon, another dead bird” but to me this was “a loss of life”. Seein the dead bird reminded me so much of how unpredictable life can be. It reminded me to build up for my future, to live my dreams now, to pursue God now, to make life meaningful for myself and those around me.
Because when I die, I don’t want to be “just another dead pigeon by the roadside”. I want to be “the only unique eagle of its kind that leaves a lasting legacy”
-Efunnuga Henrietta Adedayo

Leave a Reply

